Opinion : Why I will buy a 3DS XL

Last night in a Nintendo direct video, they announced the 3DS XL, there was some acceptance, there was some outrage.

I bought a 3DS at the North American launch, I paid the 250, got my Ambassador certificate.  Honestly, I don’t regret the purchase, and have been enjoying my 3DS regardless of the price drop.  After purchasing a DSi XL, I feel a benefit from a bigger screen more than a slimmer form factor (the Lite version). 

Maybe more than anything, I don’t game outdoors with a handheld (shocking, I know).  Mostly, the 3DS (and Vita) have become my gaming choice of late, because a) there’s not alot of console games I want to play at the moment, and b) console gaming is more “work”.  What I mean by that is, I have to physically plop myself in front of the TV, boot up and spend a “considerable” amount of time on a game.  With the 3DS (and Vita), I can be in bed, or in front of the comp, and play in spurts, and just sleep the machine when done.  A good example of this is Super Mario Land 3D, you play 1-2 stages of about 2 min each, and you can set it done.  Not a real commitment, but more of a gaming experience than an typical iOS game.

So, why am I not outraged by the lack of a second analog stick.  Quite frankly, the 3DS games haven’t really been defined as “needing” it.  It’s a nice to have, but you could do camera controls with the screen acting as pseudo right stick.  And you know why Nintendo didn’t do it?  It doesn’t want to alienate the fanbase.  If you built the second analog stick, a developer, will come in and go, “Oh, let’s build a game that requires it”.  But what of all the people that don’t upgrade or don’t buy the Circle Pad Pro?  It’s a problem.  So, while I don’t expect a built in one for 3DS, if the comments made by Nintendo so far indicate, they are working on a new system already.  That one, will have 2 sticks.  Just wait till then.

For now, I’m eagerly anticipating Aug 19, when I can see a larger Mario collecting gold coins like a madman.

Leave a comment